Committee Composition

Board of Directors Audit Nominating and Governance Compensation
Andrew R. Allen, M.D., Ph.D.

Andrew R. Allen, MA BM BCh MRCP PhD, has served as a director since June 2014. Dr. Allen is co-founder and CEO of Gritstone Oncology, a venture-backed next-generation personalized cancer immunotherapy company that formed in mid-2015. Previously he was co-founder and CMO of Clovis Oncology, Inc. Prior to Clovis, he served in the CMO role at Pharmion Corporation (acquired by Celgene in 2008), as Vice President of BioPharma Development and Head of the Oncology Therapeutic Unit for Chiron Corporation (acquired by Novartis in 2005), and as global project head in Abbott Laboratories’ oncology franchise. Previously, Dr. Allen was with the management consulting firm McKinsey & Company, focusing on oncology strategy. He also serves on the board of directors of Revitope Oncology, Inc., and Cell Design Labs, both privately-held biotechnology companies. Dr. Allen qualified in medicine at Oxford University, earned his Ph.D. from the Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine in London, and obtained post-graduate internal medicine qualification as a Member of Royal College of Physicians.

Ken Bate

Ken Bate has served as a director since December 2014. Mr. Bate is currently an independent consultant in the biotechnology field. From 2009 to 2012, Mr. Bate served as President and Chief Executive Officer of Archemix, Inc., or Archemix, a privately-held biotechnology company. Prior to Archemix, from 2006 to 2009, Mr. Bate served in various positions at NitroMed, Inc., a pharmaceutical company, most recently as President and Chief Executive Officer. From 2002 to 2005, Mr. Bate served as Chief Financial Officer of Millennium Pharmaceuticals, where he headed the commercial organization. Prior to joining Millennium Pharmaceuticals, Mr. Bate co-founded JSB Partners, LLC, a banking and advisory services firm for biopharmaceutical and life sciences companies. From 1990 to 1996, he was with Biogen Inc., a biotechnology company, first as their Chief Financial Officer, and then as head of the commercial organization responsible for launching the multiple sclerosis business. Mr. Bate serves on the board of directors of four other public biopharmaceutical companies, AVEO Pharmaceuticals, Inc., BioMarin Pharmaceuticals, Inc., Genocea Biosciences, Inc. and Cubist Pharmaceuticals, Inc., where he was the chairman of the board of directors. Mr. Bate received a B.A. in chemistry from Williams College and an M.B.A. from the Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania.

Carl Goldfischer M.D.

Carl Goldfischer, M.D. has served as a director since September 2009. Dr. Goldfischer has served as an Investment Partner and Managing Director of Bay City Capital LLC, as a member of the board of directors and executive committee, and has been with the firm since January 2000. Prior to joining Bay City Capital, Dr. Goldfischer was Chief Financial Officer of ImClone Systems Incorporated, a biopharmaceutical company, and since 2004, Dr. Goldfischer has served on the board of directors of EnteroMedics Inc., a publicly traded medical device company. He has previously served on the board of directors of two other publicly traded companies, MAP Pharmaceuticals, Inc., from 2004 to 2011, and Poniard Pharmaceuticals, Inc., from 2000 to 2012. Dr. Goldfischer received a B.A. from Sarah Lawrence College and an M.D. with honors in Scientific Research from Albert Einstein College of Medicine.

David M. Mott

David M. Mott has served as a director since December 2009. Mr. Mott has served as a general partner of New Enterprise Associates, Inc., an investment firm focused on venture capital and growth equity investments, since September 2008, where he leads the healthcare investing practice. From 1992 until 2008, Mr. Mott worked at MedImmune, Inc., a biotechnology company and subsidiary of AstraZeneca Plc, and served in numerous roles during his tenure, including Chief Financial Officer, President and Chief Operating Officer, and most recently as Chief Executive Officer from October 2000 to July 2008. During that time, Mr. Mott also served as Executive Vice President of AstraZeneca from June 2007 to July 2008, following AstraZeneca’s acquisition of MedImmune in June 2007. Prior to joining MedImmune, Mr. Mott was a Vice President in the healthcare investment banking group at Smith Barney, Harris Upham & Co. Inc. Mr. Mott received a B.A. from Dartmouth College. Mr. Mott also serves as the Chairman of the Board of Directors of TESARO, Inc., or TESARO.

Richard F. Pops

Richard F. Pops has served as a director since September 2008. Mr. Pops has served as Chief Executive Officer of Alkermes plc, a publicly traded biopharmaceutical company, since 1991. Mr. Pops has been a director of Alkermes since February 1991 and has been Chairman of the Board of Directors since April 2007. Since 1998, Mr. Pops has served on the board of directors of Neurocrine Biosciences, Inc., a publicly traded biopharmaceutical company. He has previously served on the board of directors of two other publicly traded biopharmaceutical companies, Sirtis Pharmaceuticals, from 2004 until 2008, and CombinatoRx, Incorporated, from 2001 until 2009. Mr. Pops received a B.A. in economics from Stanford University.

Beth Seidenberg, M.D.

Beth Seidenberg, M.D. has served as a director since February 2008. Dr. Seidenberg has been a partner at Kleiner Perkins Caufield & Byers, a venture capital firm, since May 2005, where she has primarily focused on life sciences investing. Dr. Seidenberg was previously the Senior Vice President, Head of Global Development and Chief Medical Officer at Amgen, Inc., a biotechnology company. In addition, Dr. Seidenberg was a senior executive in research and development at Bristol Myers Squibb Company, a biopharmaceutical company, and Merck. Dr. Seidenberg received a B.S. from Barnard College and an M.D. from the University of Miami School of Medicine and completed her post-graduate training at The Johns Hopkins University, George Washington University and the National Institutes of Health. Dr. Seidenberg serves on the board of directors of TESARO.

= Chair
= Member
= Independent Director